DIY Floral Fabric Hangers

Hello crafty friends! Today I spent some time to try out making DIY fabric hangers that I’ve been yearning for. Fortunately, they turned out beautifully even though it was my first attempt. Here’s a look at my first DIY hangers.

DSCF9646

I used floral jelly roll strips from my stash to wrap around the hangers. The process was pretty simple to manage. But it was a time-consuming job and my fingers got tired quickly. LOL!

Collages21

To start out, I got a six-pack of plastic hangers at Dollar Tree. It only cost me a dollar. What a good price! To make the wrapping easier, I cut off the small hooks inside the hanger, using a nipper. Then I sliced the jelly roll strip in half lengthwise, which yielded 44″ length x 1.5″ width. After that, I began wrapping the strip very tightly around the hanger so that the fabric wouldn’t come loose. I secured the fabric with some score tape on the initial and final wraps and a couple of points in between.

DSCF9637

DSCF9665

I love the way they turned out. The floral patterns give my hangers a refreshing and vigorous feeling. And the short loose threads look so natural and lovely! They will brighten up my closet for sure. By the way, to make my own fabric covered hangers I got inspired by this tutorial from Pie N’ The Sky.

DSCF9629

I hope you enjoyed viewing the hangers and you find a little bit of inspiration.

Thanks for stopping by my blog. Have a good night!

May Park

featured

About May Park

Hello! My name is May Sukyong Park. I was born and brought up in South Korea. I’ve done my Bachelors in Sociology and Journalism in Seoul, Korea. I’ve been happily married to the most wonderful husband for 8 years, and we moved to California, USA in Sep 2009. I now live near the coast in beautiful Southern California with my hubby and two adorable cats. I had not enjoyed any arts and crafts until I was first introduced to stamping by my friend in 2010. Then I started scrapbooking, and slowly moved in to making cards. I love clean and simple design based on creativity. I started blogging in June 2012, to share all that I create and to submit my creations into some card challenge blogs. I hope you enjoy your stay on my pages and get some inspiration. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Happy crafting!

9 comments

  1. Lovely! They’re adorable.

    One question, though, securing with tape at the beginning and at the end, was that enough to make the fabric stay in place?

    • Oh, I forgot to add one more step I did. I secured the fabric with some score tape on the initial and final wraps and a couple of points in between. Thanks for asking me.

  2. Bashaer

    I love it……… Cute ;))

  3. These hangers are so pretty…. And I bet your blouse will not slip off! a double benefit……!
    thanks for sharing…. :)

    hugs x
    Crystelle
    Crystelle Boutique

  4. Lovely! What a great way to dress up hangers and use up extra fabric!
    Gloria

  5. Pingback: Cabides forrados com tecidos passo a passo | Dicas e Sugestões Criativas

  6. Amazing things here. I’m very happy to see your post.
    Thank you so much and I am taking a look
    ahead to touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  7. Pingback: 20 Amazing Crafts to Keep Your Life Organized! | Little Red WindowLittle Red Window

  8. Pingback: Home-Making Project: Cloth Covered Hangers | Mommy Loves You Forever

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

