Cherry Blossom Card

Cherry Blossom Card

Happy Monday! Hope you are having a wonderful start to your new week. In Korea, there are a number of cherry blossom festivals in the early spring. When I lived in Seoul, going to see cherry blossoms was one of my favorite activities of the year. It was kind of my way to celebrate spring coming. Now it’s only a few weeks until the cherry blossoms are in full bloom there. I wish I could see them again before this spring is gone.

DSCF0407

Here is my card for today. I was inspired by my memory of cherry blossoms fluttering in the breeze. I know the shape of the flower image on my card is different from an actual cherry blossom. At least, I tried my best to express what I remember having felt when I used to go to the cherry blossom festivals. 😉 And I love how my flowers turned out!

DSCF0402

To create the pattern for my card, I chose a floral stamp from Hero Arts Everyday Sayings stamp set. Then I stamped the images with a watermark stamp pad and heat-embossed them with white embossing powder. After that, I colored the flowers using Copic markers. I wanted them to show a gradation of color so that they look like they’re getting sunshine on each petal. So I colored the flowers in the following order : RV10, RV13, RV10, R43, and RV10 with patience. To finish off my card, I adhered a pearl in the middle of each flower. By the way, I stamped the sentiment first before creating the pattern using a stamp from PTI Signature Greetings stamp set.

DSCF0427

This is another card I created using different colors. The flowers I ended up with are more vibrant, but they look a bit less like cherry blossoms. What do you think? Hope you get some inspiration from my cards and find some time to enjoy the beautiful flowers.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! Happy crafting!

May Park

*Over at Catered Crop, my card was chosen as one of the winning recipes.*

winningrecipebutton