Happy April Fool’s day! It’s a day for laughter. So we have a perfect cue word for this week’s challenge over at CASology.

Screen Shot 2014-03-30 at 7.30.44 PM

The best jokes are the clever ones where everyone laughs. Since I’m not a joke person, I had to google it to get some ideas. Then I found out these hilarious pranks that parents play on their kids. My favorite one was Brown Es. “Tell your kids you’ve baked them a pan of brownies. – Be sure to have your camera ready to catch the moment when your kid pulls back the tin foil to find brown Es instead of the expected chocolate goodness.” I almost made a card inspired by this prank. Ha-ha! Practical pranks should be done in good fun and not meant to harm anyone. Just saying!

DSC_1489-6

Then I created my own joke by playing with words. What do you see first? Open it? or do not open it? Whatever you choose, you fail. Because you would open this card at the end, then I would claim that I said “Do not open it.” Ha-ha! Hope you laughed at my joke, too. I hear someone says “Too bad it just isn’t funny.” Okay, I’ll try better next time. 🙂

DSC_1489-2

Here is a closer look at my inlaid die cuts. I used the alphabet dies from Avery Elle and cardstock from Papertrey Ink. I love inlay die-cutting technique! It crates great dimension to one layer card without adding bulk. No matter who came up with this awesome technique, I want to say thank you so much! You are simply amazing! By the way, I feel kind of awkward to see my card without stamping in it. What do you think?

sample6

Here is how I created my card. 1)Place the alphabet dies over the card base using washi tape. 2)Run them through the die cutting machine. 3)Keep die cutting until the sentiment is done. 4)Adhere the back of the card front with scrap paper. 5)Inlay the die cut letters. 6)Die cut the letters from colored card stock and inlay them to the card. Easy peasy? That’s it for today.

Screen Shot 2014-03-30 at 7.33.03 PMArdyth Percy-Robb
Gillian Ross
Jen Wills
Joyce Mehrberg
Judy Marino
Kimberly Wiener
Maureen Merritt
May Skyong Park <– that’s me!
Meghan McMillan
Melissa Chipperfield
Tracey McNeely
Guest Designer:
 Gay

Make sure to stop by each of the DT’s blog for more inspiration! I hope you play along with us this week, and the winner will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge – more details are on the CASology blog. Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy crafting!

15 thoughts on “CASology #89 : April Fool’s Day Greeting Card

  1. Well, I think it’s funny… and thanks for sharing the brown-e’s joke, I can’t wait to use it!!!

  2. May!!! I used your brown-E joke on several people today… thanks so much for sharing. I sure wish I’d taken your advice about the camera – my husband laughed the hardest, and then was upset that I hadn’t really made him brownies =]

  3. This is awesome, May! Love the inlay and the fun sentiment. You have such a clever design mind. I love to see way you’ll come up with each week! 😀

  4. I think your card is so clever. And, I love your brownie joke. I think I will try that one next year. I saw do not open and open. I wonder what that says about me.

  5. Brilliant design and clever result, made me smile as well, well done I love it! Thank you for your kind welcome as a GD 😀 x

Leave a comment