Hi peeps! It’s been a week since I uploaded the You Are My Sunshine card that I made last Thursday. It seems like I’m running out of  ideas to create new projects(sigh). I spent most of the day thinking about what I wanted to make while browsing quite a number of challenges, so that I could get inspiration from them. Later that afternoon I ended up with two cards to enter into a couple of color challenges.

Now, let me show you the first card that I’m entering into The Play Date Cafe #148. Essentially this challenge is to create a project with specific colors : peach, navy blue, and stone. To make my card, I started by stamping it with polka dots from Hero Arts with a Watermark Inkpad onto the navy blue card stock. Then I adhered the peach-colored paper that was a paint chip I got at Home Depot, and stamped sentiment with a Send a Celebration stamp from Stampin’ Up. After that, I attached three DIY flowers along the right side of my card. Finally I tied the card with grey baker’s twine from The Twinery.

This is a closer look at my card. As you can see, it’s not a perfect flower at all. The petals are almost burnt, and their lengths are crazy! But I kind of like their unique look. Something natural and vintage? Ha-ha, I know it’s an excuse. 😉 To create DIY flowers, I used satin ribbon and heated the edges of it with a candle. You can find a how-to tutorial here from Betsy Veldman.

Here is the second card that I enter in the 10 Minute Craft Dash #2. Since I already made it once with the same design, it was very easy for me to do it again. The preparation is very important for this challenge. I learned my lesson from their first challenge. I already had an idea, and gathered necessary supplies before I started. Honestly, I cut the papers and prepared homemade flowers beforehand. I hope it’s not cheating. 😉

By the way, this time they required a color palette : light blue, teal blue, and green. Hopefully the focus color of my card fits on their criteria.

The card that I created for the challenge is quite simple except for the homemade flowers. It took me 6 minutes and 23 seconds. If I counted the time for making the those mini flowers, it might have been over 10 minutes.

Thanks for stopping by my blog. Have an amazing weekend!

May Park

9 thoughts on “Handmade Flower Card – Color Challenges

Leave a Reply

