Happy Monday! Hope you are having a wonderful start to your new week. It’s been almost three months since I won the CAS-ual Fridays challenge with my polka dot card last June. So here I am again! The challenge that caught my eye this morning was about creating a clean and simple project using embossing. 

These are the cards that I created to enter into the CAS-ual Fridays #69. To meet the challenge criteria, I used heat-embossing for my cards which is one of my favorite techniques. Yes! I love heat-embossing!

To make a focal point, I stamped the birthday gifts from Hero Arts with a Versamark pad onto the white cardstock. Then I heat-embossed the image with white embossing powder. Next, I directly inked the stamped paper using a number of distress ink pads to make a striped pattern. FYI, I got inspired about bold-colored stripes from the Runway Inspired Challenge. Finally, I wiped off the remaining ink from the embossed-image with a tissue.

To finish off my card, I glued two colored strips, that I got by cutting both sides of the inked paper, onto the top and bottom side of my card. I love the way my cards turned out. I think these colorful strips give my cards balance and a cheerful mood. And also they still look clean and simple, even though I colored them with distress inks. How do you like them? By the way, these cards are also being entered into the Runway Inspired Challenge and Focal Point Challenge at Moxie Fab World.

Thanks for stopping by today. Happy crafting!

May Park

10 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Card – Embossing Challenge

  1. These are beautiful!! LOVE the colors and against the white stamping of the stacked presents(looks like a cake, too:)!)…simply lovely and wonderful!! Thanks for sharing your creativity this week at CAS-ual Fridays:)!!

  2. Looks wonderful, great techniques. Love the colours too. I didn’t see any link to MIM – could you please add it to your post so your card is a valid entry.
    Remember, to be in the running to win the prize from our sponsor this week just leave a comment for another entry. Be sure to mention you saw them on Make It Monday. The more entries you comment on the more chances you have of winning!
    Hugs, Sandy

Leave a Reply

