Hi everyone! Today I’d like to share a couple of cards that I made for CAS-ual Fridays #109: Polka Dots. When I found out this week’s theme, I immediately thought of my Polka Dot card that I made last year. That card was the first one that I entered into the challenge since I started my blog in June 2012. Any guess what challenge I played along with? It was CAS-ual Fridays #56! The exciting thing for me was that I won this challenge for the first time. So this week’s challenge over at CAS-ual Fridays is extra special to me.

DSC_4074

I started with a 4″×3″ card base from PTI Perfect Match Cardstock Sampler. Then I embossed a strip of vellum with the Cuttlebug Embossing Folder: Swiss Dots. I have no idea why I hadn’t tried embossing the vellum before. After I saw in the video tutorial how Kristina embossed the vellum in Summer Card Camp: Day 1, I really wanted to make my own. In that way, she inspired me to create this textured backdrop.

For my sentiment, I stamped “birthday!” in versamark ink and heat embossed using white embossing powder. Then I ran a “happy” die through my Cuttlebug cutting machine and adhered the die-cut letters onto the vellum. To finish it off, I added a couple of sequins around the sentiment and rounded the top corner using a Crop-A-Dile Corner Chomper. FYI, I used the color scheme, Burnt Umber, Honey, and Butter, from The Play Date Cafe.

DSC_4064

Here is another version of my polka dot mini card. It’s pretty much the same except for the color of the card base and stamped sentiment. By the way, I’m entering my first card into the following challenges: Little Tangles #16Moxie Fab World, and Seize the Birthday.

Well, that is it for me today. Thanks so much for stopping by. I’d love it if you leave some comments before you go on your way. Hope you enjoy the rest of the weekend!

May Park

17 thoughts on “Polka Dot Birthday Cards

  1. lovely dots card…both are lovely…nice arrangement…beautifully done..

    I see your card on MIM…if you like to visit me my card is number 48…would be glad if you leave me some love too…big hugs, Monika

  2. Congrats on your win last year. What an awesome feeling to win your first challenge entry. This card is a real winner, too. Love the embossed vellum and card design! Thanks for playing along with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  3. Love these cards! And I loved your card for last year’s challenge… it’s amazing <33 Thanks for joining us at CAS-ual Fridays Challenge!

  4. Hey May! Thanks for linking this up to the Birthday Card Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

  5. GORGEOUS CAS card– LOVE the brown with the vellum/polka dots! Thanks so much for joining in the fun with the Paper Smooches SPARKS team!!! Hope you will play along this week for the Picture Perfect challenge:) I apologize for not leaving a comment sooner– time flies!

  6. Hi May, thanks for sharing your lovely card with us at Make It Monday this week. I noticed you haven’t included a link to MiM. Could you please add it to make your entry valid.
    Thanks, Sandy DT

Leave a Reply

