Hi, crafty friends! Today I’d like to share a card I made for the current Catered Crop: summertime challenge. A few days ago I realized that I didn’t have any stamps with summer images. So I decided to create my own summertime image, beach waves with a faux torn edge technique.

DSC_4251

I started by covering the top portion of my card using a post-it note to mask off the area that I didn’t want stamped. Then I took a piece of card stock and tore the edge off of it. Actually I wasted more than ten papers because I had a hard time creating the look of a beautiful wave. Next, I laid the torn paper mask on the white card base using some removable adhesive to hold it in place.

DSC_4222-2

Then I applied colored inks along the edge of the mask using a blending tool. After that, I moved the mask down and repeated the process two more times. FYI, I used Tim Holtz distress ink pads in faded jeans and broken china and Hero Arts Shadow Ink in soft pool. Lastly I created the look of sand using distress inks: tea dye and antique linen. To finish off my card, I removed the mask and stamped the sentiment from My Favorite Things.

That’s all for today. For more inspiration and all the details, please check out the Catered Crop blog and mark your calendar for the Design Teams Quickfire on Sunday.

Thanks for stopping by. Hope you have wonderful weekend!

May Park

11 thoughts on “Catered Crop : Summer Lovin’

Leave a Reply

