Hi crafty friends! Today I’m beyond excited to say that I’ve been invited to be February’s guest designer over at CASE Study challenge. There is a fantastic design team, led by amazing Chupa, so I’m pretty honored to be guest designing for them. This month, our muse on the blog is Danielle Flanders. If you are a Papertrey Ink fan, I’m sure you are familiar with her fabulous work, but if not, I recommend that you take a long wander through her blog as I have no doubt that you’ll be inspired.

CSC177

This week at CASE Study challenge #177, the inspiration photo is pretty in gold, black, and white! I took the colors and flow from her WOW card above as my inspiration, and I went with a tall narrow card. Here is what I came up with:

DSC_8085-6

I embossed the stars in gold to create this starry background. I started by cutting the panel to 3″wide x 6″ tall from Neenah white cardstock. Then I taped Heidi Swapp’s confetti stencil onto the panel and sponged over the areas in Versamark using sponge dauber. Next, I carefully lifted the stencil and heat embossed the stars using Ranger gold embossing powder. After that, I adhered some pattered paper from My Mind’s Eye on the top of the embossed panel and tied it around with some twine.

DSC_8085-5

Inspired by the sentiment from Danielle’s card, I decided to combine a sentiment from stamping and die cutting. For the first line of the sentiment, I stamped the part of the stamp from Hero Arts Year Round Sentiments in black. (I literally cut my clear stamp using scissors for partial stamping.) For the second line, I smashed a versamark pad onto a piece of white cardstock, heat embossed it with gold embossing powder, and then die cut my word using the alphabet dies from Avery Elle. Finally the panel was mounted over PTI kraft cardstock.

DSC_8124-2

FYI, these are the supplies I used to create my card: Cuttlebug cutting machine and heat tool were not pictured. So that is it for my first creation as a February guest designer at CASE Study. I hope that you get the chance to play along!  There are a lot of amazingly talented girls on this team, so stop by CASE Study blog and check them out!

Screen Shot 2014-02-10 at 10.19.39 AM

 Guest Designer: May ParkCaryn Davies
11 thoughts on “CASE Study #177 : Gold Embossed Card

  1. I love always your beautiful creation May..this is beautiful too..

    I see your creation on Make It Monday, my card is #86, if you would like to see it on my blog and if you would like to leave me some love I would be glad…hugs, Monika

  2. First congratulations to you! Second – wow, what a terrific job you did on this card. Love all the stars. Thanks so much for joining us this week at ATS&M.

  3. Whoop whoop! Big congrats on being the February guest designer – I know all your cards will be amazing! Today’s card is a real beauty. Love the gold embossing and the stripes at the top. 🙂

Leave a Reply

