Hi everyone! Today I’m sharing a mother’s day card that I made inspired by this gorgeous image. Here is what I came up with:

DSC_4065-4

The idea for this card started with my desire to create a single-layer card–the easiest card to send through the mail. Then I chose to focus on masking. I also wanted to use the Hey Mr Stamp Set and Notions Stamp Set from Waffle Flower Crafts. Then I created a bold striped background to support my focal point using a masking tape. Not the quickest way to get the pattern, but it sure is fun to peel them off later after inking!

sample_0508

This is how I made my card. The process is easier to do than it is to explain. 1)Cut the heart out of some scrap paper and place the mask over the card base from Rustic Cream cardstock using removable adhesive. Trace the heart using pencil. 2)Sponge the color over the open areas using Worn Lipstick distress ink and blending tool. Masking tape was perfect for the masking I did. 3)Remove all the masks and enjoy the ‘wow’ moment. 4)Stamp the images in various colors from Studio Calico Color Theory. 5)Erase the pencil lines. 6)Heat emboss the sentiment using white embossing powder.

DSC_4065

My card needed lots of masking, inking, and stamping. Absolutely it was time consuming, but I love the way it turned out! I think masking and multi-color stamping added great dimension and interest to this one layer card. What do you think? Hope you like my card and get some inspiration. By the way, I’m entering this into The Paper Players # 194Muse Challenge #66, and Curtain Call Inspiration challenge.

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 2.07.00 AM

FYI, these are the images of the stamp sets that I used to create my card. I had to break out the stamps to create my own sentiment from “FATHER’S” stamp. Well, that’s all I have today. Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy crafting!waffle-flower-crafts-design-team-badges-may

17 thoughts on “Waffle Flower: Happy Mother’s Day Card

  1. This is so gorgeous! I love how all the bits and bobs in the heart are made up of different colours, this really makes them pop. And thank you so much for showing how you made the card, really appreciate it!

  2. Wow I LOVE this! It looks so professional! Love the colours you’ve chosen and all the little images are fabulous! 🙂

    Beth xx

Leave a Reply

