Happy Friday! BIG news came my way this morning! I’ve miraculously managed to make it to the Top 5 in the Paper Crafts & Scrapbooking Magazine Gallery Idol card contest! So thank you so much, from the absolute bottom of my heart, for your kind words, encouragement and votes for my Little Prince card. I’m so thrilled to be able to continue my ride on this amazing journey. I’ll be back Monday with a card that is hopefully fabulous enough for your votes again. I really appreciate your support and encouragement.

Today I’m sharing a card that I made for the Catered Crop: Manly Men challenge. Father’s day is coming, which means it’s the perfect time to celebrate the boys and men in our lives. Show us your masculine side with this challenge.

DSC_5080

I made a simple masculine card inspired by men’s dress shirts on display. I created a repeated pattern using a dress shirts image from A Muse Studio in various colors from Hero Arts Shadow Ink and Studio Calico Color Theory. For the focal point, I paper pieced the image and then popped it up with dimensional adhesive. I also used the sentiment from Bowtiful Stamp Set by Waffle Flower Crafts.

sample_0612

I know this is so easy to make, but I still want to share a quick tutorial to show you how I put together my card. 1)Draw some guide lines using ruler and pencil on the Neenah Solar White card base. Stamp the sentiment using Memento Tuxedo Black. 2)Stamp the dress shirts image in black using Stamp Positioner. 3)Create a simple pattern by stamping the image in various colors. 4)Stamp the image onto patterned paper. 5)Cut image pieces out of pattern paper with sharp scissors. 6)Adhere patterned paper pieces over the original stamped image. Then pop it up using dimensional adhesive.

DSC_5070-2

I love lots of different techniques but one of my favorites is paper piecing! It is a great way to add some fun dimension to my cards. So I created another card, but I used versamark ink for the background and heat embossed the sentiment using white embossing powder. Which one do you like? Hope you love at least one of them and get some inspiration. 😉 By the way, I’m entering my first card into the following challenges: CAS-ual Fridays #132, The Male Room , and Naughty Or Nice #5.

ManlyMenMosaic

That’s it for me today. There is a fabulous Pinterest board that Linda has curated. You can head over to her board, Manley Men, to find links to all the inspiring projects. Make sure to stop by the Catered Crop blog to see the rest of the DT creations on Sunday, June 15. I hope you play along with us as the winners will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge.

Thank you so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

13 thoughts on “Catered Crop: Simple Father’s Day Card

  1. Wow! I think both cards are gorgeous and the paper piecing is super. I adore the second card, the white stamping really stands out. Thanks so much for playing along with ASM this week!

  2. What a great Father’s Day card – perfect for our challenge this week in The Male Room – thanks for playing along – Jacqueline xx

  3. Congrats on making the top 5! And your cards today are just stunning, I love how you have popped up one shirt to give dimension. I may be missing it, bit I can’t see the link to our blog. If I am right please could you add our link….if I have missed it, then please ignore me!! Either way we are so pleased you joined us x

  4. Oh this paper piecing is incredible! Love how you worked the stamp into the background too. HUGE congrats again on a well-played Gallery Idol, May. I really loved all of your cards. Thanks for joining the CAS-ual Fridays Challenge!

Leave a Reply

