Happy Tuesday! Last week we had a full of lovely CAS creations in the entries over at CASology. And I had the honor of choosing the winner, and you ladies seriously made my choice harder with those fabulous cards. Keep it up! Now it’s time to get creative again, and here is this week’s cue card:
Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 1.58.03 PM

My inspiration came from Korean Thanksgiving Day called Chuseok(추석). This year Chuseok was on September 8, but the holiday was observed for THREE days. During the holiday, Koreans eat Songpyeon which is half-moon-shaped rice cake that contains sweet fillings. To celebrate Chuseok, I wanted to create a thanksgiving day card with THREE pieces of Songpyeon. Without further ado, here is my take on THREE:

DSC_8439

I made this Songpyeon card using Martha Stewart craft’s clay. Then I stamped Korean sentiment “have a nice Chuseok.” I also chose Rustic Cream cardstock from Papertrey Ink for my card base to achieve an oriental look.

DSC_8438

This is a closer look at my card. I planned to create Songpyeon in three colors, because my grandma used to make them in white, pink, and green. When steaming the Songpyeon, she layered them with pine needles to add the fragrant smell of fresh pine trees. That was why I layered my three Songpyeon over the several pieces of green twine. I coated the Songpyeon with glossy accents like sesame oil.

sample_0908

This is a tutorial with step photos on how I put together my card. 1)Prepare clay dough in white, yellow, red, and blue. 2)Mix the clay to create pink and green by squeezing them together. 3)Foam a Songpyeon in three colors and let them dry. 4)Cut several pieces of green twine and attach them on card base. 5)Stamp sentiment in black. 6)Adhere the Songpyeon over the twine and coat them with glossy accents.

DSC_8332

I’d like to hear from you what you think about my card. Does Songpyeon seem yummy to you? Does Korean letters look interesting to you? I’m not sure whether you would understand my thought that went into my card. But I’m glad how my card turned out. Since I live far away from my home country, I sent my family a photo of this card and of course they loved it. Miss them so much! (By the way, I’m linking this up to the following challenge: Addicted to CAS #47 and The Paper Players #212.)

screen-shot-2014-05-26-at-8-44-43-pm

May Park (it’s me!)
Guest Designer: Diana
That’s all for today. Now it’s your turn to play along. There is a wonderful prize up for grabs from Craft Classes Online and the winner will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge – more details are on the CASology blog. Make sure to stop by each of the DT’s blog for more inspiration! Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!
41 thoughts on “CASology #112: Korean Thanksgiving Day Card

  1. Love the card. I enjoy eating the bean filled cakes, too.I have been searching for stamps in Korean . Where do purchase your Thanksgiving stamp?

    1. Karma is a jealous bitch. Unafrtunotely, your awesomeness left a negative void in the galaxy. The imbalance had to be rectified, the anomaly corrected. This brief, but infuriating sting has purged the inequality. Do not think of this as a slight, but a cosmic cleansing. You may now return to being awesome again, unscathed.

  2. What a neat card! I’m not sure about the cakes….I like red bean, and a few other pastes found in Chinese cakes, but I definitely don’t like all of them….so probably the same with thee. I guess I’m just picky.

  3. I love that you incorporated your culture on this card, May! Your clay images are so pretty, and I love the green sprigs on each side! Such a gorgeous CAS card!

  4. May, your card is awesome (as always) and I loved reading about Korean Thanksgiving and your family traditions! Thank you for sharing them with us. 🙂

    1. Thanks so much for the sweet words, Jen! To be honest, I was concerned about today’s post since I used unfamiliar theme to non-Korean. So your comment means a lot to me. Thanks again!

  5. Its so beautiful and creative take, after looking at I had to come in for a closer look, you have done so beautifully to represent the Chuseok festival, I love korean food, and a big fan of KBS World, watching korean tv more than my indian tv ;), I in fact speak korean….Very creative, totally out of box…great inspiration indeed!!

    1. Haha! You are so funny that you watch Korean TV more than your Indian one. Do you speak Korean? How awesome! 정말 멋져요~ Thanks so much for your sweet comment. 🙂

  6. What a wonderfully creative spin on the word “Three”! Thanks for sharing both your inspiration and how you made you card May, and thanks for playing along with us this week at The Paper Players!

  7. Thank you for sharing one of your Korean family traditions, and illustrating how you created this beautiful card, which I absolutely love! So clean and simple, and truly Oriental.
    Thank you for taking part in our ATCAS Oriental challenge. Sylvia x

  8. Amazing design May. Love all the tradition that you followed with making your own version of Songpyeon, using three colors like your grandmother did. The green twine really does look like pine needles. Thanks for sharing with us at ATCAS.

  9. What a fabulous card May – I love the story behind it about how your grandmother used to make songpyeon. Thanks for playing at ATCAS.

    Karen x

  10. May I want to tell you that your card really caught my eyes and after I see your tutorial then I want to put something special too on my card but I dont have any clay dough to make similar like yours..also I choose to use twine..and its not similar like your clay dough but it is also something to eat it is Lollies..and I made my simple card with my Lollies…hope you like to see it on my blog cause I am inspired by your lovely clay dough this time…many thanks for your lovely inspiration and tutorials…have a great sunday May…hugs and kisses from Germany….Monika

  11. May, so sorry I’m late to visit this week. What a treat your post was! I love to learn about different cultures and traditions, and your card is so full of symbolism and meaning! Just gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

