Hi, crafty friends! I’m excited to be back here for the CASology challenge after having a 3-week break to finish my cardmaking book. I’ve missed you all and checking your wonderful CAS creations. Now it’s Tuesday and that means time for a brand new challenge over at CASology. Without further ado, here is this week’s cue card:

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 4.02.58 PMAs always, you can interpret the word literally or go for something a bit more outside the box. I love seeing what you come up with each week and I’m ready for a fresh batch of inspiration from you all as I visit your blogs. Without further ado, here is my take on CANDY:

DSC_2127I created a clean and simple one layer card inspired by some colorful gumballs in a mason jar. For a gumball image, I used a circle stamp from Flower Circles Stamp Set by Waffle Flower Crafts. I stamped only top portion of the jar stamp on diagonal to create a fun layout. I also stamped the sentiment along the side of the jar to give some interest on my CAS design.

DSC_2130Since I was so in love with my gumball card, I made another one horizontally this time. It wasn’t easy to stamp my circles to look like gumballs dropping from the jar and piling up in a very natural way. After a few failed attempts, I achieved the look I wanted. 

sample_1013This is how I put together my card. 1)Apply some black ink on the mason jar stamp after covering the lid with a sticky note. 2)Remove the sticky note and stamp the jar image on the card base. 3)Stamp the mason jar on a sticky note. Then cut it out with scissors to create a mask. 4)Temporarily adhere the mask to cover the outside of the jar. Then start stamping circles in different colors. 5)Remove the mask after stamping. 6)Stamp the sentiment along the side of mason jar with black ink.

DSC_2146You won’t believe that how many gumball cards I ended up with in the end. S-I-X-T-E-E-N! Yes, I made sixteen gumball cards. I couldn’t resist making it on and on, because my gumball card looked so cute and lovely. Especially I loved all the cheery/yummy colors from my cards. What do you think? Hope you love my creations and get some inspiration. By the way, I’m liking this up to the Virginia’s View Challenge #8: Clean and Simple and Cool Canning Jars Challenge in the Moxie Fab World.

Screen Shot 2014-05-26 at 8.44.43 PM

May Park (It’s me!)
Guest Designer: Gunsan

Now it’s your turn to play along. I can’t wait to see how all of you talented participants interpret this week’s cue card. There is a wonderful prize up for grabs from STAMPlorations and the winner will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge – more details are on the CASology blog. Make sure to stop by the rest of the design team for more inspiration! Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

24 thoughts on “CASology #117: Clean and Simple Gumball Cards

  1. this is an utterly stunning and colourful one layer card but I can’t fathom out what your ‘2 of something’ is,
    which was a requirement this week.
    Do hope you’ll join us again sometime
    Sarah
    Less is More

  2. You always have such a clever take on things and today is no exception. I love the little scene of pouring candy that you created, and your partial jar is fantastic.

  3. May, your gum ball cards are perfection (I’m sure all 16 of them are perfect, too!) I love the arrangement, you make it look so easy! Great step-by-step directions, your pictures are so clear! Can’t wait to see your book, I’m sure it will be fabulous!

  4. May I love your gum Ball card it is really clever to use that ball stamp to create your scene…as I know you are a clever card maker..and I adore this card too…i dont have also JAR stamp must buy it soon…it is really nice to create candy card right for me too…i made one and join at CASology..wish that you have a minute time to visiting my CANDY card and maybe leaving me some love too..big hugs, Monika

  5. OMG! This card is just awesome! Thanks so much for the tutorial! Cant wait to try!
    I especially love how you masked off the mason jar stamp…the top and around it. I never would have thought of that!

Leave a Reply

