Happy Tuesday! Last week we had a ton of gorgeous LOVE creations over at CASolgoy! I really appreciate all of you who played along with us and created so inspiring CAS cards. And it’s time to get creative again, and here is this week’s cue card:

Week 134 - MonochromeAs always, you can interpret the word literally or go for something a bit more outside the box. Here is my take on MONOCHROME:

DSC_6299

Seollal (Lunar New Year; January 1 of the lunar calendar) is one of the most celebrated national holidays in South Korea. This year, Seollal falls on February 19th according to the lunar calendar. I miss my family so much back home around this time every year.

That’s the path I ended up making a Lunar New Year card, inspired by ink-and-wash painting. Did you notice what scene I’ve wanted to represent in my card? It was a new day like “sun rise over the mountain” moment.

By the way, I created my own stencil to add some triangle pattern for the mountain ridge. And I’m sharing my cutting file I designed, and you can download HERE for only personal use.

sample_021615

This is how I put together my card. ①Create a triangle stencil using Silhouette Design Studio and cut it out with Silhouette SD cutting machine. ②Place the stencil over the card front and ink all over the open areas using Avery Elle New Moon and sponge dauber. ③Repeat sponging until making tree rows of black triangle border. ④Cover the new stencil and start inking again using Hero Arts Shadow Ink Silver and sponge dauber, making sure overlapping partially the black inked area. ⑤Repeat sponging until making tree rows of silver triangle border. ⑥Create a sun image by inking the circle stencil using Hero Arts Shadow Ink Soft Cantaloupe. Finish off the card with the sentiment from Waffle Flower Bowtiful Set.

screen-shot-2014-05-26-at-8-44-43-pm

Guest Designer: Maria
Now it’s your turn to play along. There is a wonderful prize up for grabs from STAMPlorations and the winner will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge – more details are on the CASology blog. Make sure to stop by each of the DT’s blog for more inspiration! Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!
15 thoughts on “CASology #134: Korean New Year Card

Leave a Reply

