021116_WOW Altenew collaboration blog hop

Hello, and welcome to the Altenew & WOW! Embossing Powder collaboration blog hop! If you came from the amazing Laurence Colling’s blog, you are right on track! Today the design team girls are sharing some fabulous projects using both Altenew and WOW! products, and here is what I came up with:

Handmade Birthday Card_FlowerHeatEmbossing_2I created a birthday card inspired by my friend Yana’s gorgeous cardmaking style. She loves using anything gold, flowers, and frame on her projects. You wouldn’t believe me how many cards I had to throw away and start over until I found some inspiration from Yana’s cards: HERE and HERE.

Handmade Birthday Card using Gold Heat Embossing

I’ve struggled with today’s blog hop project for the last few days, and I just finished my card one hour ago. It’s a pity that I had to stop filming a video in the middle of process because I was in a hurry. It’s already 3:20 am while I’m writing a post. Gosh, the blog hop will be live in 40 minutes!

Handmade Birthday Card using Gold Heat Embossing

DIY Birthday Card using Heat Embossing Technique

  1. Create a ombre background by applying three shades of blue inks using mini blending tool on a piece of white cardstock.
  2. Stamp the images from Golden Garden with watermark ink and heat emboss them with WOW! Metallic Gold Rich powder.
  3. Stamp flowers and leaves from Vintage Flowers, gold emboss the flowers, die cut them with coordinating dies.
  4. Mount Baroque Frame and die cut pieces on the card front using foam tape.
  5. Gold emboss the sentiment from Birthday Greetings on a piece of black cardstock.
  6. Adhere the sentiment banner on the frame and finish off the card with some clear droplets from Pretty Pink Posh.

Handmade Birthday Card using Gold Heat Embossing

I usually don’t ask you to leave me a comment, but I really hope you share what you think about today’s card and leave me some love. That means a lot to me!

Handmade Birthday Card using Gold Heat Embossing

PRIZES:

There are two $30 WOW! gift certificates and two $30 Altenew gift certificates up for grabs. Winners will be picked randomly from the comments left on any of the blogs listed below and announced on the Altenew and WOW! blogs on February 29th.

Handmade Birthday Card using Gold Heat Embossing

It is now time to head on over to the talented Victoria Petrenko’s blog to see what creation she has to inspire you all. I am sure she has something amazing made up. Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy hopping!

176 thoughts on “Altenew+WOW! Embossing Powder Blog Hop

  1. Hi May, Wow, this card is beyond beautiful! Well worth the effort, and I would never guess you struggled with the idea for this one. I want to drop everything right now and go make a card like this!

  2. Your card is beautiful. I love the ombre’ blue background. Plus the gold embossing makes everything pop. You are so talented….don’t doubt yourself! I bet those previous cards you tried were wonderful. You definitely inspire me.

  3. Love the gold frame and gold embossing on your card. I would never have thought to use a frame like that, great idea. Love the flowers at the bottom.
    ~Gin K.~

  4. You never disappoint! This card is gorgeous and I hope you can salvage some parts of the video. I love watching them on youtube. Beautiful idea using Altenew and WOW embossing powders together.

  5. Very elegant card. I love everything about it. I will have to try adding gold embossing to my altenew floral stamps. The result is stunning.

  6. Haha. This does look like a Yana creation. You added your own touch to make it really pretty, your blended background is so smooth.

  7. Your card was definitely worth the struggle. I love the shaded blue background with the pink flower and gold embossing. A very pretty card.

  8. It’s a beautiful card; well worth the artistic “struggle” you went through to get to the end result. I guess that’s what being a true artist is all about. Thanks for sharing that you go through the same struggles we all do to get to our end results. Keep up the good work.

  9. You are way too hard on yourself, May! This card is GORGEOUS and, yes, it does bring Yana’s style to mind. However, you have taken it a bit further and made it a “May” design. Thank you for the inspiration! I love the blue ombre background and the gold embossing is SO pretty.

  10. May May… you know I love every single little thing you do, right? Today your card makes me think of gorgeous woven silk … beautiful colors, gorgeous stamping, perfect design [always]!!! xx
    =]

  11. The flowers are extremely pretty May and the gold embossing suits them perfectly and they sit beautifully over the gold frame and the ombre blue background. x

  12. Hello there aMAYzing Miss May ~ Your card is gorgeous and totally captured Yana’s essence!! Hard to believe you could possibly struggle with creativity, but I guess that just lets the rest of us know that it’s not just your fans who run out of MOJO on occasion!! Stunning card, my dear May. Thanks so much for sharing!
    #sharehandmadekindness

  13. I think the gold really shines on this card- I mean, you can’t NOT look at it! I love the colors too- way to go Altenew and WOW… this is great.

  14. Oh May – I’m sorry to hear how much you struggled but the card is so breathtaking!!! You’ve given me so much inspiration with this card – all sorts of things I want to go and try!

  15. Oh May, I think this is one of the prettiest cards I’ve ever seen. It’s stunning, I love the blue background and I love how you embossed the gold as one of the layers over the pink. Your cards are always so beautiful, you put so much love into them. And how can you go wrong using the most gorgegous flower stamps in the industry and the fantabulous WOW colors. Thanks for sharing and always inspiring me.

  16. Beautiful card! One of my favorites from the hop! I love the ombre background and the frame embellishment. The gold embossed floral layers are such an interesting detail.

  17. Gorgeous card! I love the gold accents in the flower layers and background! The frame and gold accents give it a classic beaty feel great job! Thank You for sharing along in this fantastic hop!

  18. Well, your card certainly turned out gorgeous. You certainly can’t tell that you struggled – it’s very nicely done. Thanks!

  19. All of your efforts and all of the time you spent on this card paid off … big time. It is STUNNING! This is absolutely fabulous and you’ve given me some great ideas of things to try. Thanks so much for that and thanks also for the chance to win!

    Hugs,
    Snoopy 😀

  20. May,

    I wish I could turn out a card that BEAUTIFUL as fast as you did this one!! It is just gorgeous with the gold embossing over the blue background. It’s just beautiful!

    Thanks for sharing,
    Michelle

  21. I love this card! Your ombré blue background with all the rich gold details really makes a statement. I especially like how you stamped the flowers with ink and embossing powder! I need to give that a try.

Leave a Reply

