DIY coloring layering and ombre background card

Hello, crafty friends! I’m pleased as punch to officially announce that I’ve joined the amazing Hero Arts Creative Team. I am still pinching myself. Make sure to check out the Hero Arts blog as they announce a new member – yes, that’s me- today.

Here is what I came up with right after I received a design team box full of Hero Arts products last week:

HeroArts_ColorLayeringCard_May_with Watermark

I made a fun encouragement card using ombre background and color layering. Two fishes exploring the sea with fearless! Don’t they look so ambitious? While making the card, I realized that how much I missed this kind of cards. Something witty, catchy, and creative!

I love to tell a story with the images I put together for my card. To help you understand what I mean, I made a photo collage with 9 samples:

9 DIY Creative Card Ideas with Storytelling

9 Creative Card Ideas with Storytelling 

If you want more details of any of these projects, please click the links above.

DIY coloring layering card idea

I had so much fun making this card, and really love how it turned out. I also made a video tutorial showing you how I created my card. You can watch it here or in HD on YouTube :

How to Make an Encouragement Card with Color Layering & Ombre Background 

  1. Stamp the wave pattern from Wave Pattern Background using Ombre Tide Pool to Navy ink.
  2. Stamp the fishes from Color Layering Goldfish stamp set and die cut them using coordinating dies. (Inks used for big fish : Pale Tomato and Crimson, small fish : Soft Cantaloupe and Pale Tomato)
  3. Make a couple of slits using a kraft knife and put the die cut fishes in the slits using foam squares.
  4. Ink the colors along the edge of A2 sized top folding card using Ombre ink and sponge dauber.
  5. Mount the background panel on the card front using a double sided tape.
  6. White emboss the sentiment from the Dare To Dream stamp set using white embossing powder.
  7. Add some Glossy Accents to the eyes and finish off the card with clear gemstones.

DIY coloring layering and ombre background card

That’s all I have for today! I hope you enjoyed seeing my card and got some inspiration. Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

19 thoughts on “Exciting News – Hero Arts Creative Team 

  1. Hi May! Congratulations on your creative team news! I have been a huge fan of your work since you were on the Neat & Tangled blog. Today’s card is as stunning as always!

  2. There isn’t a person I can think of that is more deserving of this spot!! May!!! Congratulations! Now I’m off to watch you create this darling, story-telling, scene! xx
    =]

  3. Yes, I did love your video, but LOVE your card more. What an amazing & encouraging story you’ve told…and one that’s so beautifully colored. Your English is coming along very well.

  4. This is so pretty! Love the card – the colors are so beautiful, and I love the scene! Welcome to the team!! SO happy to have you!! 🙂

  5. Hi May ~ So excited for you!! Congratulations!! Good to know that Hero Arts now knows you’re aMAYzing too!! ~HUGS~

Leave a Reply

