Happy Sunday everyone!  We are moving next week and my hubby is now super busy packing our stuff. What about me? As you can see, I’m blogging! Ha-ha! Recently I’ve been a busy bee making cards. I had a couple of projects done, before my hubby started packing up my craft room. Whew, fortunately I’ve got two cards to share with you today.

DSC_1882

Here is the first card that I’m sharing today. It was challenging for me to deal with fine glitter powder, since I’m pretty new to the glitter world. (FYI, I used to use glitter glues which is very easy to use.) I created the rainbow-patterned strips using double sided tape and seven different colors of glitter. To make the cloud over the rainbow, I used a scrap of die cut which was cut out using a Rosie Posie die collection from Papertrey Ink.

To be honest, while I was working on them, I felt a little annoyed because all the glitter fluttered everywhere, and I needed to clean up my worktable and wipe my hands each time before moving onto the next step. On the bright side, I didn’t care about my carpet getting sparkles on it. 😉

DSC_1905

Here is my second card that represents bubbles in the air. This inspiration came from a video that my friend, Yoko, uploaded on her Facebook that captured her two kids blowing bubbles. Since then, I’ve been wanting to create something with bubbles. While I was making this card, I found out that glitter was not a good material to create bubbles with. I wanted them to look clean and tidy, but they ended up a little messy. I like the sparkling bubbles though, feeling like they’re catching the sunlight.

FYI, I designed six types of stencils and cut them out using my Silhouette SD cutting machine. I applied some glue onto the exposed areas and then poured on the colored glitter. I repeated this process five times to make each bubble a different color. Yes, it definitely took some time and concentration.

DSC_1891

Which one do you like best? Actually I had three more cards that I was planning to share today. But I decided not to upload them to my blog because they’re not good enough. By the way, I created another card for Catered Crop : Just Add Glitter Recipe Swap. I think this card is beyond amazing. 😉 Can’t wait to show you all.

Thanks so much for stopping by. I’d love it if you leave some comments before you go on your way. Hope you enjoy the rest of the weekend!

May Park

16 thoughts on “All That Glitters

  1. Absolutely wonderful, who couldn’t resist a glittery rainbow! Good luck with the move.
    Thanks so much for sharing with us at CAS(E) this Sketch this week!

  2. Hi dear~!! It’s so colorful and nice cards you made!! I love the color you chose and it’s new for me to stamp sentiments on top of the lefthandside. ( Usually I stamp bottom or middle….) Hope your moving gonna smooth and fine. And looking forward to seeing your new work studio:D xoxo

  3. Beautiful use of colour and glitter! Thanks so much for playing along with us at CAS(E) This Sketch this week!

  4. what fab cards,love them both,really neat idea on using the glitter and fab CAS layouts
    Thanks for joining us at MIM and good luck in the challenge
    tracey x

  5. I love the rainbow of glittery colors!! I think the bubbles work really well too…they seem more airy and fragile with those open areas – just like real bubbles!

  6. oh, both cards are wonderful! I’m a bit afraid of using fine glitter myself, but you have opened up my appetite! Thank you for playing along with us at Addicted to CAS!

  7. Both cards are wonderful! So impressed with the effort you went through to make the bubble card. And your glitter stripes are so trendy on an angle like that. Thanks for playing at the CAS-ual Fridays Challenge!

Leave a comment