Hi crafty friends! It’s time for a new challenge over at CASology. Here is this week’s cue card:

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 11.08.45 PM

I decided to go with the cue word literally using a bee image from Circle Friends stamp set by Simon Says Stamp. Then I challenged myself to create a fun and bold honeycomb background using embossing paste. I had so much fun with it, and without further ado, here is what I came up with:

DSC_4509-5

The honeycomb was created using Wendy Vecchi white embossing paste mixed with yellow acrylic paint to add some vibrant color. It was applied to the black cardstock through the Honeycomb stencil from Heidi Swapp. I opted to create a smooth finish to my pastes using a spatula. Those yellow hexagons just make me happy! Hope you like it, too!

sample_0522

This is how I put together my card. 1)Positon the stencil on a black cardstock panel and tape it in place with some washi tape. Mix some white embossing paste with yellow acrylic paint. Then apply the mixture over the area with a spatula. 2)Carefully remove the stencil. Then set the panel aside to dry. 3)Cut the panel leaving wanted area and pop it up on the card base using foam tape. 4)Stamp the sentiment from Kindness Matters stamp set. Stamp the trail after the sentiment in black. 5)Stamp the bee image from the Circle Friends stamp set. Then color the image with Copics. 6)Fussy cut the bee and adhere it on the card base using foam tape. Then add a shimmer over the wings using Wink of Stella glitter clear marker. Finish off the card with glossy accents onto the bee.

DSC_4509

The embossing paste adds such a cool texture. It’s an awesome look in real life, or at least I think so.

Screen Shot 2014-05-26 at 8.44.43 PM

May Skyong Park <– you are here!
Meghan McMillan

That’s it for me today. I hope you play along with us this week, and the winner will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge – more details are on the CASology blog. Be sure to check out what the rest of the design team has for you, including our fabulous Guest Designer, Deepti. Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!


14 thoughts on “CASology #97: Honeycomb Card using Embossing Paste

  1. Wow May! This is amazing! I wish I could see those hexagons in real life! They look like they have so much dimension. Also wanted to congratulate you on your amazing Gallery Idol entries. Both are absolutely out of this world!!!

  2. My word, these make me happy too May! I was pulled in by the crisp honecomb~but even more delighted to see it’s 3D! happy sigh from here~

  3. Wonderful card, and thank you for the tutorial. I have yet to try to use embossing paste, and I had no idea I could color it with paint. Good to know. Good luck with Idol!!

  4. My nickname is Honeybee so I was immediately attracted to your card – so pretty. I snooped around your blog and I love your style. Everything looks so clean, pretty and cheerful. I’ll be back 🙂

  5. Thanks for sharing your “recipe” for this fabulous card, May! I love how you created the honeycomb! Cute additional to your sentiment too!

  6. May, this is so cool…I have yet to experiment with embossing paste but you sure make it all look easy and fun! (And that’s why you are in Gallery Idol — you are amazing!)

Leave a comment