Happy Tuesday! I found that last week’s cue word was a bit of head scratcher for some of you including me. But you ladies came up with wonderful CAS creations and made our work harder choosing the winners. Keep it up! Now it’s time to get creative again, and here is this week’s cue card over at CASology:

Screen Shot 2014-07-14 at 10.09.09 PM

A nice easy cue word with so many options for interpretation! Actually this was my favorite cue word ever since I joined on the design team at CASology. I couldn’t shift my mind from a cat for this one. So I created a little scene that has been seen around my house all the time since I adopted my two cats last year. Here is my take on PET challenge:

DSC_6295

My cats love playing with yarn, ribbon, plastic bag, and cardboard box. And they also love climbing up in high places such as counter top, floating shelf, table, and headboard. For my card, I combined two things that my cats love – playing with yarn at the floating shelf! That makes a happy meowday for sure! I wish my cats could see my card and know how much I love them. They are way too adorable! (One more thing to say, my cats use toilet! That means there is no litter box at my place. Isn’t that awesome?)

To create a cat card, I used Happy Meowday Stamp Set from Simon Says Stamp. Can you notice what I used for my floating shelf? Yes, I used a mini wood clothespin. I kept this card clean and simple by using one main image and setting it in the top corner of the card so that lots of empty white space remained. I love how my cat card turned out. What do you think? Here is a closer look at my card:

DSC_6291

I have a feeling that I would remain in a beginner level in coloring for the rest of my life. *wink* Even though I wasn’t good at copic coloring, I tried to color my image to look like one of my cats. He has a beautiful stripe patten on his tale. The cat looks so cute on the floating clothespin! By the way, I’m entering this into Curtain Call challenge.

sample_0715

This is a quick step-by-step photo tutorial on how I put together my card. 1)Separate a wood clothespin and color it with brown marker. Then adhere it on card using glue dots. 2)Stamp a cat image in black ink and color the image with Copics. 3)Fussy cut the cat and adhere it on card using dimensional adhesive. 4)To make a yarn ball, wind baker’s twine on a pearl. Then adhere the yarn ball next to the cat using glue dots. 5)Stamp the sentiment in black ink. 6)Die-cut mini heart using Simons Says Mini Heart die and adhere it next to the sentiment. Then coat it with Glossy Accents.

Now it’s over to you ladies, I can’t wait to see what clean and simple ideas you all come up with this week, but before you get started, make sure to stop by each of the DT’s blog for more inspiration! Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

screen-shot-2014-05-26-at-8-44-43-pm

19 thoughts on “CASology #104: Happy Meowday Card

  1. aaaaw this is soooo cute, adorable!!! i have a friend with a red tomcat kitten so i think i will try this out;-D
    thank you for the sharing and the tute;-D

  2. May, I had a feeling you might make a card woth a cat on it! 🙂 This is adorable..and I’m sure your lucky cats know how much you love them!

  3. May…clever idea using that wood from the tiny clips..you are a clever card maker.lovely Meow so cuute and great cas card…hope as DT you like to see my PET card too and maybe leave me some love.. I would be soo happy May…hugs, Monika

Leave a comment