Hi crafty friends! Do you remember that last week I made a Water drop thank you card related to the terrible drought in California? I was hoping for a little rain down here while making the card. Then, a few days later, some unexpected magic happened when I was enjoying the time with my husband at the Renegade craft fair last Sunday. Suddenly it started raining! Yes, I said RAINING! There was quite a lot of rain for about one hour. I was so excited to be outside in the rain. I also felt like my card helped to make sure we got rain. Ha-ha!
Screen Shot 2014-07-26 at 11.04.32 PMNow it’s time for a new challenge over at CASology. After having some precious rain, this week’s cue card seemed perfect for me to work with. A nice easy cue word with so many options for interpretation! Then I decided to go punny for my card. Rain+Bow=Rainbow! I’ve incorporated both on my design and here is what I came up with:

DSC_6623Ta-da! This is a rain-bow card! I wanted to create a raining scene inspired by my recent experience. For a focal point, I added a bow die-cut out of rainbow patterned paper as an umbrella. I know there was no such a thing like bow shaped umbrella. But we can imagine anything we want on our cards, right? *wink*

DSC_6637

I wanted my bow take a main stage, so I stamped off the sentiment once on a scrap paper to get a soft look. I drew freehand those raindrops using Copic marker. (I took Copic B00 and fully touched the tip of the marker to the card front, making a rain drop shape.) Aren’t they so cute? I love how my card turned out! Hope you like my creation, too.

sample_0727

By the way, this is a photo tutorial on how I put together my card. 1)Die cut a bow using bow die from Bowtiful Die Set by Waffle Flower Crafts.  2)Add some raindrops using Copic Marker B00: Frost Blue. 3)Die cut a bow out of patterned paper. Then inlay the bow onto card. 4)Stamp the sentiment from Framed Out #2 by Papertrey Ink. Then add one more layer of bow die-cut using dimensional adhesive. (The last step didn’t shown in the photo above.)

Screen Shot 2014-05-26 at 8.44.43 PM

Now it’s your turn – I can’t wait to see what clean and simple ideas you all come up with this week. But before you get started, make sure to stop by each of the DT’s blog for more inspiration! Thanks so much for stopping by, your visits are truly appreciated. Happy crafting!

19 thoughts on “CASology #106: Rain-bow Greeting Card

  1. Great story of how this card was inspired — and I really like how you used the cue word, too! Especially when such a pretty, happy card is the result.

  2. I was just as surprised as you for that unexpected rain. I’m sure it was your card that caused it. This is a really fabulous interpretation of the rainbow–very impressed that you can make a pun in your second language. That is very difficult.

  3. 진짜 너무 이쁘다 물론 아이디어를 이렇게 한것도 기발하지만 리본안에 비가 오지않는다는게 넘 사랑스럼워…ㅋ 오오오오오~

  4. Aaah! Inspired as usual. How awesome is that bow stamp and die? I have certainly given it a workout. Love how you use it, and those hand drawn raindrops are perfect!

  5. Yay for rain in California! When I was traveling in Northern California a few weeks ago, there were signs everywhere about the drought. Love the card, of course!

  6. I’m sorry this comment is so late, but I was on holiday in Spain last week and wifi was a little limited and slow!
    This is simply terrific!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

Leave a comment