Hi crafty friends! I still cannot believe I’m in the Top 15 of the Paper Crafts Magazine’s Gallery Idol contest. Thanks so much to everyone who voted for my soda card and help me to go to the next round. You’re all the best bloggie friends a girl could ever ask for! I really appreciate your support.Screen Shot 2014-06-02 at 9.35.30 AMNow it’s time to focus on Round 3! The theme is to use stencil on a card. When I sat down to work on my card, lots of ideas came to mind anything from trendy to freestyle collage to make this challenge work. Then I chose to keep true to my style which is clean and simple based on creativity. For my card, I used stenciling and heat embossing technique along with watercoloring to support my theme. Without further ado, here is what I came up with:

final_15

I created a fun summer card inspired by The Little Mermaid. I took the color scheme, purple and aqua blue, from the main character, Ariel. I only created lower body of the mermaid by leaving the upper body to your imagination. What do you imagine? Beautiful mermaid or just big fish? By the way, did you notice the sparkles on the fish scales? How about some wet look on the end of the tail? I added some fabulous details to my card. 🙂

sample_0601

This is how I made my card. 1)Create a mermaid image using Silhouette design studio and cut it out using cutting machine. Then layer a Heidi Swapp stencil over the image and ink it with several colors of Distress Inks using blending tools. 2)Heat emboss the inked area with Sparkle embossing powder. 3)Ink the end of tail with Distress Inks and heat emboss it with Clear Ultra Thick Enamel embossing powder from Ranger. 4)Add some colors on a piece of watercolor paper. 5)Stamp the sentiment from Making Memories magnetic stamp set. Them stamp the dot images from PTI Beautiful Blooms II stamp set with Hero Arts shadow ink: soft pool.  After that, apply some glossy accents over the dots. 6)Pop up the mermaid image on the watercolored card base using foam tape.

final_15_detail

Here is a closer look at my card. I really love how it turned out! The gradient-clored pattern by stenciling looks so fabulous with all the glitters.  I’m so sure this card looks way better in real life. Hope you can catch the awesome details from the photo above. 🙂

So there you have it – my entry for Round 3 of the Gallery Idol contest. I’m in the company of some incredibly talented ladies who have come up with outstanding projects for this round’s challenge. Please go HERE to check out all the amazing entries, then vote for your favorite! If you think you want to vote for my card, then you can find a direct link to my entry HERE! Your votes are going to make the difference between moving on to the Top 10 and not.

Thanks so much in advance for your kind words, encouragement and votes. As always, I so appreciate you stopping by my little blog world here. That’s all for me today. Happy crafting!

36 thoughts on “Gallery Idol Round 3: Little Mermaid Themed Card with Stencil

  1. Such a clever way to incorporate stenciling! This is adorable! My daughter would run off with this in a heartbeat!

  2. May, your stencil card is really awesome!! It is so creative and Beautiful. Good Luck!

  3. I LOVE this May- and what girl didn’t grow up imagining having a mermaid’s tail! The hint of sparkle is the perfect touch! Congrats on the top 15 & Good Luck!

  4. May! Wow! Your blending is outstanding! Such a fun approach to this round. Just enjoy your thinking and execution. So well done! Best of luck to you too! 🙂

  5. So creative and whimsical….definitely caught my eye in this week’s entries. I like the simplicity of the design and the thoughtful blending.

Leave a comment