Hi, crafty friends! Hope you are having a wonderful weekend. Today I have some bitter sweet news to share. Our wonderful hostess, Linda McClain, has made the decision to close down the Recipe Swap challenge at Catered Crop. That’s the sad part, but I’m so happy for Linda and all the new adventures she has been enjoying since her retirement. I completely understand her decision but it’s such a pity to see such a great challenge blog go.

DSC_4290The theme for the last challenge at Catered Crop is “Anything Goes”. I decided to make a thank you card to show Linda how much I’m thankful for her. My inspiration came from a gorgeous dress that I ran across at the Runway Inspired challenge #72. Gold and coral? This awesome color combination made me go out of my comfort zone. I heat embossed my background using gold embossing powder and then watercolored it. I’ve never thought that gold embossed image would go with watercolors.

DSC_4338

Here is a closer look at my embossed background. Isn’t it so beautiful? I colored only flowers to enhance my design. To highlight the embossed area of the flowers, I went over it with Wink of Stella glitter clear marker. I wish I could show you my card in person. There is no doubt that my card looks way better in real life. 🙂

sample_1123

Here is a step-by-setp tutorial on how I put together my card. 1)Stamp the large flower background from Hero Arts on the smooth side of watercolor paper using VersaMark watermark ink. 2)Heat emboss the stamped image using gold embossing powder. 3)Watercolor the flower images using Distress Ink: Worn Lipstick. 4)Stamp the strip image from On the Strip stamp set by Neat and Tangled using watermark ink on the each side of white cardstock. Then heat emboss it using black embossing powder. 5)Adhere the watercolored panel on the black embossed panel using foam tape. Then add some glitter on each flower using Wink of Stella glitter clear marker. 6)Heat emboss the sentiment from Label Love stamp set by Altenew using black embossing powder. Then adhere the sentiment panel on the card using foam tape.

DSC_4284

Since I was so in love with my first card, I created another one in different color. To be honest, I made 8 cards all day long yesterday. Seriously I couldn’t stop making these beauties. Lol! This time I used Distress Ink Wild Honey to color the flowers. I love the black stripes peeking towards the each side of my card. What do you think?

DSC_4285

It wasn’t easy at all to achieve a fine and clean gold-embossed line of the images. Once I pressed the background stamp with wrong pressure, it left me a dull or thick lines. Of course it was an essential process to remove any static and moisture on the paper using anti-static bag before stamping. For stubborn stray embossing powders, I also used a fine paint brush and tweezer to remove them. Anyway, I had to try a few attempts until I was happy with my gold-embossed images.

DSC_4296That’s all for today. Hope you loved my creations and got some inspiration to play along with us. Don’t forget to stop by the Catered Crop blog to see the rest of the DT creations. Thank you so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

9 thoughts on “Catered Crop: Thank You Card with Gold-embossed Background

  1. Holy Moly! This card is stunning! It just pops off the page. Thank you for all your amazing contributions to Catered Crop. I’m so glad our paths crossed and I can’t wait to see what you do next. You are a rock star!

  2. These are gorgeous! I love the gold embossing on such a detailed image and that you colored just those blooms.

  3. These are so gorgeous, May! I adore the gold embossing and water-coloring with Distress Inks and how you used the strip of pattern paper….Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Thanks/Thanksgiving” Challenge!

  4. Gorgeous. Those b/w strips are perfect. And have you tried laying your BG stamp down with the inked side up, then laying your paper on top and rubbing over it with your fingers? I find this method works better than “stamping” with BG stamps.

Leave a comment