Happy Tuesday! After a great week of PET inspiration, we are ready for a new challenge over at CASology! Here is this week’s cue card:
Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 9.15.09 PMMy inspiration came when I listened to KPCC news related to “California is running dry.” State water regulators have made wasting water unlawful in California. (source) I totally agreed with water restrictions on certain outdoor watering practices in cities. With California’s new water rules, I asked to myself what I could do to save water. Later I made a decision on using a cup when I brush my teeth. Then I took some time to be grateful for all the things I have and all the people I know. That’s the path I came up with a water drop thank you card.

DSC_6466-4

I almost used a computer generated sentiment saying “I love you every drop.” Then I decided to use a thank you stamp I already had. I love how my card turned out! Simple yet effective! Hope you like it, too. By the way, depending on your perspective, the inked area at the bottom could be seen as water in the sink or water resources such as river. What do you see? (I’m entering this into the following challenges: Less is More #181 and Curtain Call Inspiration challenge.)

sample_0721

This is a quick step-by-step photo tutorial on how I put together my one layer card. 1)Place the sticky note over the card front, leaving the area on the bottom. Sponge the color over the open area using Distress Ink Tumbled Glass. 2)Stamp the sentiment from Thank You Stamp Set by Papertrey Ink along the inked area. 3)To make a faucet, stamp the part of label image from Bowtiful Additions Stamp Set by Waffle Flower. (I used a sticky note for masking.) 4)Stamp a water drop image in Hero Arts Soft Pool. (I used the back side of leaf image from Flower Circles Stamp Set by Waffle Flower.)

screen-shot-2014-05-26-at-8-44-43-pm

That’s it for me today. There is a wonderful prize up for grabs from Add a Little Dazzle and the winner will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge– more details are on the CASology blog. Be sure to check out what the rest of the talented design team has for you. Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

19 thoughts on “CASology #105: Water Drop Thank You Card

  1. Clever card May. I empty my dog Ginger’s water dish into a plant beside the front door. The Carlsbad fire was close (5 miles) from our home and the scars are very visable along Palomar Airport Road, also the fire in San Marcos is visible along the 78. This will be a loooong summer and we certainly need to restrict our usuage of water.

  2. May, the drought in California is very serious, and I love that your card reflects the current issues in your area. Brilliant and beautiful!

  3. What a great card . Love the way the news inspired you. The images are perfect… also love the blue strip on the bottom. Thank you for playing along with us at Curtain Call Inpsiration Challenge.

  4. great idea and great Card!! 🙂
    (to your question, the letters are from a single Alphabet, which i have used for the Sentiment.
    Manuela

Leave a comment