Happy Tuesday! It’s time for a new challenge over at CASology. Here is this week’s cue card:Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 4.27.05 PMWhen I found out this week’s cue word, I immediately thought of my friend who has just bought her first house. Then I wanted to make her a housewarming card. Without further ado, here is what I came up with:

DSC_2391I created a clean and simple housewarming card inspired by a Spanish style address plaque. I spent quite some time looking for some patterned paper which had a feel/look of Spanish style tile to it. Then I found something similar from My Mind’s Eye Reunion paper pad. I used some label dies from Lifestyle Crafts to create my own plaque. For my sentiment, I combined two stamp sets from different companies as well: Papertrey Ink and Waffle Flower Crafts. I stamped the exact same numbers with my friend’s house address to make this card extra personal/unique. To finish off my card, I drew some black lines around the edges connecting with a part of the sentiment. Yes, sometimes you don’t need to stamp your sentiment close to your focal point for better design.

DSC_2387I made another card with same theme but different layout. I stamped the sentiment right under the address plaque this time. I also drew some black lines next to the second line of my sentiment. It helped to create a unified look for my entire sentiment. Anyway, I’m so happy with the way my cards turned out. Which one do you like the most?

DSC_2389Here is a closer look at my card. I really love my address plaque reminds me of a beautiful Spanish style tile. Depending on what patterned paper I use, the address plaque would look different, though. Those sentiment from two different companies goes together along with black lines. What do you think?

sample_1020This is how I put together my housewarming card. 1)Diecut the labels using Lifestyle Crafts Label Cutting Dies from a piece of white/orange/paptterned papers. 2)Assemble the three die-cuts to create an address plaque shape. Then attach the brads through the hole. 3)Stamp house numbers from Harold’s ABCs stamp set by Lawn Fawn with black ink on the assembled label. 4)Stamp a tiny heart from Loved stamp set on each side of the numbers with red ink. 5)Stamp sentiment on card front, combined a couple of stamp sets from Baby Mini stamp set by Papertrey Ink and A Homemade Christmas stamp set by Waffle Flower Crafts. Then draw some lines on each side of the second sentiment using black marker and ruler. 6)Adhere the address plaque to the card front with foam tape.

Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 4.46.29 PM

May Park (It’s me!)
Guest Designer: Rahmat

Now it’s your turn to play along. As always, you can interpret the cue word literally or go for something a bit more outside the box. The winner will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge– more details are on the CASology blog. Make sure to check out what the rest of the talented design team has for you, including our fabulous guest designers, Rahmat. Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

19 thoughts on “CASology #118: Housewarming Card with Address Plaque

  1. I adore your idea May, I like that you chose the address for the focal point, and grounded evrything else, which looks indeed very effective!

  2. May this is spectacular! Of the two? I think I like….hmmm…. no, can’t decide! Love them both, and all the products you used!… so happy to know I’m not the only one who pulls from six different sets at a time…
    =] Michele

  3. Awesome work!!! I love the simplicity of this card – it is stunning! Thanks so much for sharing it with us at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog! – Ashli 🙂

Leave a comment