Hello crafty friends! It’s Tuesday and that means time for a brand new challenge over at CASology. Last week we had so many wonderful entries, so I can’t wait to see what clean and simple ideas you all come up with this week. Without further ado, here is this week’s cue card:

Screen Shot 2014-08-11 at 9.15.12 PM

When I saw the word MAGIC, I immediately thought of the lyric said “please and thank you are the magic words” from the kid’s song named “Please and Thank You.” Then I was going to make a thank you card. But my husband told me that I’ve gone too far from the cue word since my card didn’t include any images related to magic. I had to start it over. After I passed on the ‘magic word’ idea, I spent a few days scratching my head. Thankfully, I had a sudden idea yesterday and chose to go with a welcome baby card, and here is my take on MAGIC:

DSC_7338

One of my friends delivered a beautiful baby girl last month. I think it couldn’t be more magical than having a baby and being a mom on earth. To create my own scene, I used four different stamp sets from different company: globe from Wish You Were Here stamp set by Lawn Fawn, fairy from Adorable Baby Girl stamp set by Hero Arts, star from A Homemade Christmas stamp set by Waffle Flower Crafts, and sentiment from Simple Sentiments stamp set by Papertrey Ink.

DSC_7346

This is a closer look at my card. Can you see some sparkles on the wings and glossy texture on the heart? Probably not. It’s a shame my camera failed to catch those awesome details I added. My card looks way better in real life.

sample_0811

This is how I put together my card. 1)Make card from Neenah Solar White cardstock. Cut globe stand using scissors. Stamp globe and fairy with Memento Tuxedo Black. 2)Color globe with Copics: B00, B0000, YG13, and YG17. 3)Color fairy with Copics and add some glitter on wings using Wink of Stella glitter clear marker. 4)Cut stamp using scissors and stamp sentiment in black. 5)Stamp stars in yellow. 6)Die-cut mini heart three times using Simons Says Mini Heart die. Adhere them together on card. Then coat it with Glossy Accents.

screen-shot-2014-05-26-at-8-44-43-pm

May Park (It’s me!)
Guest Designer:  Jane and Shelly

Now it’s your turn to play along. As always, you can interpret the word literally or go for something a bit more outside the box. There is a wonderful prize up for grabs from STAMPlorations and the winner will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge – more details are on the CASology blog. Make sure to stop by each of the DT’s blog for more inspiration! Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

13 thoughts on “CASology #108: Welcome Baby Card

  1. Fabulous interpretation, May. Being a mom and having a baby–growing a little life–is truly magical. Love your whimsical baby card and your tutorial.

  2. Love this is so sweet May!!!! And if you link up to Paper Crafting Challenges BABY challenge running for 2 weekes, , you have a chance at a Neat and Tangled FREE set of choice. cool huh!!! -Hope I see you there!!

  3. May! I love this tribute to motherhood — it certainly is a magical time in a mom’s life to have a baby! Great combination of stamps…they go together fabulously!

  4. So sweet, May … what a cute image and I love all those shimmery stars! Such a clever take on the cue card … the arrival of a new baby is a magical time … miraculous, even! Anita 🙂

  5. Precious May! I am sure that your friend will be very grateful to receive such a gorgeous card! I just love that little red heart beating on the globe of the world! Magical indeed!

  6. A baby card is perfect for a “magic” challenge. I also think it’s magic that you took four different stamp sets from four different companies and came up with this cute idea!

Leave a comment