Hello, crafty friends! Today I’m sharing a few cards that I put together using Waffle Flower Crafts’s Feather More stamp set and Holiday Labels-Merry stamp set. Here is what I came up with:

DSC_4363_updatedMy inspiration came from Dawn’s fabulous cards showing easy way to incorporate watercolor into holiday cards. Then I wanted to make my own after watching her video tutorial. First I stamped the tiny feathers from Feather More stamp set in Distress Inks and then spritzed them with water. After drying the images, I heat embossed the feather using gold embossing powder. For the sentiment, I used Holiday Labels-Merry stamp set.

DSC_4411Here is a closeup of the card. As Dawn said, I was able to create some wonderful bleeds of color with very little effort. It wasn’t easy to watch my images getting messy, though. So I had to try several attempts until I was happy with the look.

DSC_4367_updatedFor some reason, I wanted to go outside of my comfort zone for my second card. Can you notice what I did? I spattered some ink using Heidi Swapp Color Shine around the front panel. I can’t believe I added a few ink splats on my card. As a CAS card maker, it was a big decision that needed lots of courage and confidence at the same time. Do you like how it turned out?

Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 1.06.36 AMThis is a step-by-step tutorial on how I made my first card. 1)Stamp the tiny feather three times from Feather More stamp set in Distress Inks: Dusty Concord, Festive Berries, and Peacock Feathers. 2)Spritz the stamped feathers with water using mini mister. 3)Heat emboss the feather using gold embossing powder. 4)Stamp the sentiment from Holiday Labels-Merry stamp set with watermark ink and heat emboss it using gold embossing powder. Finish off the card by mounting the panel onto the card base using foam tape.

DSC_4372You could tell that I’ve gone totally crazy on spattering inks after all. Once I found it’s interesting, I couldn’t leave any white spaces on my cards. Lol! But I definitely need more practice creating some clean(?) ink splatters. Any tips?

DSC_4389_updatedThat’s all I have for today. Hope you loved seeing my creations and got some inspiration to make your own holiday cards using watercolor stamping. Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you all have a safe and happy Thanksgiving!

unnamedBy the way, Waffle Flower Crafts have two Holiday Gift set bundles perfect for gifting to your crafty friends or adding to your own holiday wish list: The Die Bundle and The Gift Wrapping Bundle. You can read about what’s included in these bundles HERE.

21 thoughts on “Waffle Flower: Winter Holiday Cards using Watercolor Stamping

  1. These are so pretty! I love the color choices and the controlled bleeding and love that you added he gold embossed feather! Oh, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!! Hope you have a great day!!!

  2. This is really pretty May, the colours look amazing in that super backdrop!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  3. Love the look of adding water after stamping the images – these are beautiful, May! Bright bold colours and so modern feeling! So glad you joined us at Festive Friday!

  4. Very pretty design, May – the gold embossing makes it very elegant! Thanks for playing along with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesay challenge!

  5. Sorry to be so late visiting you this week, what a super card May, love the effect you got!
    Thanks so much for entering the LIM Challenge
    Anne
    Less is More Designer

Leave a comment