Happy Tuesday! It’s time for a new challenge over at CASology. Here is this week’s cue card:
Week 138 - Blossom

My inspiration came from a bunch of dried flowers hanging on the wall. I thought getting older is like flowers being dried. It loses moisture, gets wrinkles, and the color becomes deeper as the petals dry. It may not be having any fragrance, but we still remember that each flower had a glorious moment in the life. Without further ado, here is my take on BLOSSOM:

DSC_7048

I created my own dried flowers using a variety of smaller botanical images from Dala Horse set. Then I stamped the string and clip images from Jumpstart My Heart set.

DSC_7060

After coloring the images with Copic markers, I finished it off with the sentiment from Giving Tree set. “Wrinkles should merely indicate where the smiles have been.” I think my dried flowers really go with the sentiment. What do you think?

screen-shot-2014-05-26-at-8-44-43-pm

Now it’s your turn to play along. As always, you can interpret the cue word literally or go for something a bit more outside the box. There is a wonderful prize up for grabs from Craft Classes Online and the winner will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge – more details are on the CASology blog. Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

13 thoughts on “CASology #138: Clean and Simple One-layer Card

  1. May this is beautiful and was hoping this was your CASology when I saw it on Instagram last night. Pinned for future reference as the Dala Horse is en route to me!

  2. This is so original!! I LOVE drying flowers too-when I can get them to grow. LOVE the fun way you used these stamps. Great take on the challenge!

  3. Wow, May, what a lovely interpretation of getting older…very poetic. Your card is also a beautiful interpretation…and your photography always amazes me!

  4. Hey May!!! Your cards always thrill me. You are super fabulous when it come to CAS card making. I love your card. It surely reminds me of flowers that I use to hang upside down to dry out.

Leave a comment