header

Hi, crafty friends! Today’s card is one I did for the Penny Black Simplicity blog last March, but I wanted to share it here also. It shows how to create stamped background with various word stamps.

DSC_7082

For my card, I started by stamping the girl image from Happy Days in black and color it with Copic markers. Then I die cut a circle out of sticky note and place it over the card front. Next, I stamped the words from Happy Days, Friendship, Snippets, Sprinkles, and Smiles using a variety of colors. After that, I added some shimmer on the girl’s bow using glitter marker.

DSC_7062

I’m not an expert when it comes to coloring, but I love how my colored image turned out. 🙂

DSC_7077

I made another card using same technique but slightly different design. I really love the simple and neutral look of this stamped background. What do you think?

DSC_7074

Hope you loved my cards and got some inspiration. Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy crafting!

Penny Black Products Used30- 277 Happy Days30-160 Friendship30-283 Snippets30- 297 Sprinkles and Smiles

Additional Products: Neenah Cardstock (Solar White), Memento Ink(Tuxedo Black), Various Pigment Inks, Copic Sketch Markers, Wink of Stella Glitter Clear Marker

9 thoughts on “Penny Black Simplicity: Mimi’s Birthday Cards with Stamped Background

  1. I love these cards. The many greetings and wishes stamped in pale colors make a great background and the more vibrant colors of the cake and little girl make a perfect focal point. Great design. I have to try this!

  2. Hi May! I love both cards and would love to try this myself! You are the queen of backgrounds and I am inspired to use my new Life Is Beautiful blog hop prize to use the little images and some mixed words to create a “May” card! I really am drawn to the second card with the soft, neutral colors because it is so unique!

Leave a comment