Hi everyone! It’s Tuesday and that means it’s time for a new challenge over at CASology. Here is this week’s cue card:

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 10.25.36 PM

When I lived in Marina Del Rey, my hubby and I loved to take a walk along the beach. Most of the houses near the beach were amazingly beautiful. We felt kinda jealous of the owners with those luxurious houses. At the same time, we appreciated the owners because we could enjoy seeing their beautiful gardens/yards filled with gorgeous flowers in all seasons while walking. This is the way my inspiration came from.

DSC_2737

Can you recognize what shape I created for the focal point? It’s a keyhole! Yes, I literally made a keyhole garden card. While making this card, I imagined the moment when I would unlock the front door of our first house in US. Of course, there would be a beautiful garden or yard in my future house. Hope it will happen to us in the near future. 🙂

DSC_2744

I stamped the flowers using the Doodlie-do stamp set from Papertry Ink and colored them with Copic markers. Then I created my own sentiment using Harold’s ABC’s stamp set from Lawn Fawn. To add some sparkle to my flowers, I used  Wink of Stella glitter marker for the first time. Unfortunately, my camera failed to catch it. But it looks gorgeous in real life.

I’m so in love with the look of Mandala in my card! By the way, do you know what Mandala mean? I learned it from the Dabbles and Babbles blog by Jamey. For some of you who have no idea what it is, I’m sharing what she wrote about Mandala below. You can find the entire post here.

Mandalas are as old as history itself and mean “sacred circle” in Sanskrit. In various ancient and spiritual cultures including Buddhists, Tibetans, Hindus and North American Indians, the mandala has been used as a form of meditation, in sacred rites to aid in healing and to invoke spiritual energy. Mandalas have often represented life, nature, creation, wellness and the universe.

sample_0421

Here is how I created my card. 1)Die cut the circle out of a piece of kraft card stock. 2)Cut the trapezium to shape the keyhole using ruler and knife. I drew the guideline with pencil before cutting. 3)Stamp the flower images in black. 4)Color the images with Copics and add some simmer using glitter marker. 5)Draw the dashed lines along the keyhole using black marker and stamp the sentiment in black. 6)Adhere the front panel onto the colored card base using dimensional adhesive.

DSC_2739

That’s all for today. Make sure to stop by each of the DT’s blog for more inspiration! I hope you play along with us this week, there is a wonderful prize up for grabs from Stamps and Scrapbooks and the winner will have a chance to guest design on the next challenge – more details are on the CASology blog. I can’t wait to see how all of you talented participants interpret this week’s cue card! Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

Screen Shot 2014-03-30 at 7.33.03 PM

27 thoughts on “CASology #92: Housewarming Greeting Card

  1. Such a brilliant take on the cue word, May! I love your gorgeous bright and cheery coloring on those flowers. It’s like peeking into The Secret Garden!

  2. SO creative and FUN and wonderfully done, you ALWAYS make me smile with your creations!!!!
    I used some of the twine you gave me on my dog card posted today!!! Thanks again, you are too kind May, a wonderful friend!

  3. This is brilliant, May! I’ve often felt the same way about the homes up along Lake Michigan whenever we vacation there! I love how the keyhole frames the pretty floral background! It really pops against the kraft cardstock too! 🙂

  4. May, what a sweet story…I hope that you and your DH get that house with a lovely garden some day soon! In the meantime, your sweet card is beautiful and I love the patterned flowers (amazing!!!) behind that keyhole…how I’d love to unlock that door!

  5. I love all your cards, May and this one’s no exception. I really thought that it’s the patterned paper you used there, until I read here that you actually stamped and coloured those flowers!! WOW/!! Very beautiful and neat colouring. And I love that you used a kraft base.

  6. Another great card from you! From the first look I tought that this is a patterned paper, not stamps. Great work! Perfect idea. Good luck. Regards, TokBobok.

  7. I love this card so fresh. I can see it as a “Just peeking in to say Hi” card. Love your bright colors and clean lines.

  8. On the subject of Mandala’s and Buddhism, there is a connection to the ocean for which Marina Del Rey is known for. Old Japanese Monks would sail away by themselves on a boat to Paradise, never to return. I suppose the modern practice of burial at sea is similiar.

Leave a comment