DIY Homemade New Year Card using Stamping and Heat Embossing

Hi, crafty friends! I hope you are having a great start to your new year. Mine has been pretty good so far. I signed up for a gym membership and I’m planning to practice some Zumba, yoga, cardio… Then I also registered for English classes, every morning Monday through Friday. I hope it will help me improve my English skills so I communicate better with you. 🙂

DIY_NewYearCard_Altenew

Today I have a new year card to share that I made inspired by my Chinese friend’s wedding dress. She wore a sleeveless silk dress with gorgeous floral pattern and bold color combination on it. It’s not exactly the same dress, but her dress looked something like this traditional Chinese wedding dress. So today’s card can easily transfer to a wedding card using a different sentiment.

Here is a process video showing you how I created my card. You can watch it here or in HD on YouTube:

How to make a new year card with bold color combination 

  1. Stamp the flowers and leaves from Lacy Scrolls with black ink on red cardstock.
  2. Add faux stitched details by diecutting the stamped piece with Stitched Rectangle die.
  3. Heat emboss ‘hello’ from Super Script and ‘2016’ from Modern Deco Alpha on a piece of black cardstock with gold embossing powder. Then die cut ‘hello’ using Super Script die.
  4. Adhere the antique gold frame along with embossed pieces on the card front using foam tape.

4 tips to get a good impression when stamping 

  1. Place a foam pad under the paper.
  2. Tap your stamp a few times on the ink pad to get a nice ink coverage on the stamp.
  3. Check your stamp before stamping if it has some un-inked area.
  4. Stamp firmly on the paper with even pressure. Make sure you don’t move the stamp while stamping.

DIY Homemade New Year Card using Stamping and Heat Embossing

Don’t love the catchy colors on my card? Red, black, and gold… I’m already planning to use this color combo for my next project. And I’m so in love with the gold frame which added luxurious feel to the card.

That’s all I have for today! I hope you enjoyed seeing my card and got some inspiration. Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!CHA MEGA Show 2016 Anaheim

PS. I’m so excited for CHA(The Craft&Hobby Association) this week. If you are going, make sure to stop by and see me at the Altenew booth(2212) as I’ll be managing Make & Take sessions on Sunday and Monday. Can’t wait to walk around and meet my crafty friends there.

12 thoughts on “Video: Altenew – DIY New Year Card Inspired by Chinese Wedding Dress

  1. Hi May! What a lovely, innovative card! Your color combo is gorgeous and reminds me of a dress called a qipao that my daughter wore to my niece’s wedding a few years ago. Good luck on accomplishing all your goals for the year!

  2. Beautiful card, May! Love the flower and leaf stamps. Great video. Thanks so much for all your great ideas and fit participating in this fun and exciting event! Keep up the good work!

  3. Beautiful card, May! Love the flower and leaf stamps. Great video. Thanks so much for all your great ideas and for participating in this fun and exciting event! Keep up the good work!

Leave a comment