Altenew_WatercolorFlorals_HandmadeCard_4

Hello, crafty friends! Last month I was up on the Altenew blog with a set of watercolor cards that I made using a couple of techniques: colored embossing and loose watercoloring.

Altenew_WatercolorFlorals_HandmadeCard_4

I used the multi layered stamps from Beautiful Day and Peony Bouquet in a different way. Rather than stamping the images in layers with different colors, I stamped them as a single image to create a unique look.

DSC_3002

I made a video tutorial to show you how to make this watercolor card from start to finish. You can watch it below or on my YouTube channel. Hope you find it helpful.

How to Make a Card using Colored Embossing and Loose Watercoloring

  1. Pull out the stamps from Beautiful Day and Peony Bouquet.
  2. Ink up the stamps with Versamark watermark ink first and Midnight Violet ink after.
  3. Stamp the floral images on some watercolor paper from Arches.
  4. Heat emboss the images with clear embossing powder.
  5. Watercolor the images with Mijello Misson Gold 36 watercolor set.
  6. Stamp the sentiment from the Oriental Orchid stamp set with black ink.
  7. Mount the watercolor panel on a A2 size top folding card using foam tape.

Altenew_WatercolorFlorals_HandmadeCard_4

Colored Embossing with Dye Inks

  • It’s a great way to get more out of your dye inks.
  • It’s a useful technique when you don’t own a bunch of embossing powers with every color.
  • You can create the same look of colored embossing by stamping with your dye ink/watermark ink together and heat embossing with clear embossing powder.
  • Pigment ink works better as you don’t need to ink up with watermark ink when heat embossing.

If you want to learn more about the colored embossing technique, please check out this blog post from Jennifer McGuire Ink : Faux Colored Embossing.

Altenew_WatercolorFlorals_HandmadeCard_4

Actually this is the card I made first. However my husband didn’t like the way I added the ink splatters and clear sequins on my card. So I had to start it over. That is just me. I’m not satisfied with my card until my husband loves it. Hehe…

DSC_2999

That’s all I have for today! I hope you enjoyed seeing my cards and got some inspiration to make your own. Thanks so much for stopping by. Happy crafting!

9 thoughts on “Video : Watercolor Floral Card w/ Colored Embossing

  1. I like very much your cards May, but I think I prefer the one of the video. I love these stamp sets, they’re so beautiful, and make so gorgeous cards each time I see them used. Very interesting technique with the versamark and the dye ink at the same time. Thanks for sharing.

  2. That Peony set finally is heading my way! Along with the dies to cut your beautiful Orchids, May!!! Yippee! Gorgeous cards … sending you a note on YouTube regarding my favorite – he hee … xx
    =]

  3. You never cease to amaze me May! Beautiful loose watercoloring ending in a gorgeous card! I liked the the slightly more district lines created in your second card, along with areas of less color peeking through adding contrast. However, they both were gorgeous. Thank you for sharing the colored embossing tip.

  4. Love both cards! Each one of them is special and beautiful in its own way! Glad to hear that hubby “forced” you to make a video! Lucky us!

Leave a comment